Skyline Chili

Published by

on

I found this recipe on Crockpot Tuesdays.  Cincinnati is known for its Skyline Chili, a sweet chili instead of a spicy chili.  I live an hour from Cincinnati, so there are many Skyline Chili restaurants around.  In fact, there are two Skyline Chili restaurants within five miles of my house.  Eating there can get expensive, so I decided making it at home would be a more cost-effective plus, I know what’s in my food.

Since I found the recipe, I have made it three times.  It was delicious the first time I made it.  However, the second time it was too runny, so it wasn’t as good.  So when I made it for the third time, I put a little less water.  It was thicker and as delicious as it was the first time.

Skyline chili is eaten in 5 ways.

1-way:  chili
2-way:  spaghetti with chili
3-way:  spaghetti with chili and shredded cheddar cheese
4-way:  spaghetti with chili, shredded cheddar cheese, and onions OR red kidney beans
5-way:  spaghetti with chili, shredded cheddar cheese, onions, and red kidney beans
 

Stars of the Recipe

  • 2 1/2 lbs. lean ground beef
  • 15 oz. can of tomato sauce
  • 8 oz. tomato paste (1 1/3 cans)
  • 5 tbsp. chili powder
  • 2 1/2 tbsp. semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. allspice
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tbsp. distilled white vinegar
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. onion powder
  • 2 tsp. steak sauce
  • 4 cups water (I used 3 and 3/4ths cups instead.)

Directions:

  1. Brown ground beef lightly on the stovetop.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a Crockpot.
  3. Stir well, and cook on low for 12 hours or longer.

Enjoy!

 This post is linked to Colleen’s Kitchen Recipe Swap.

8 responses to “Skyline Chili”

  1. Menu Planning Week of November 1 « Cooking with Traci Avatar

    […] – (Hubby  cooking) Skyline chili (freezer) over spaghetti, mixed veggies, cornbread […]

  2. January 2011 meals « Cooking with Traci Avatar

    […] Skyline chili over spaghetti, raw veggies, cornbread […]

  3. Menu Planning Monday ~ January 24, 2011 « Cooking with Traci Avatar

    […] – Skyline chili over spaghetti, […]

  4. Recipes Not Viewed | I'm Hungry Avatar

    […]  Skyline Chili – Published in Sept. […]

  5. 31 Days of Slow Cooker Dinners | I'm Hungry – Words from Growing Boys Avatar

    […] October 10 – Skyline Chili […]

  6. I'm Hungry – Words from Growing Boys Avatar

    […] – Skyline chili over left over spaghetti noodles and homemade white […]

  7. 10 Recipes on my blog that are gluten free – Blog Post #8 – Believe in the Magic Traci Diary Avatar

    […] Skyline Chili (GF) – Serve over baked potatoes with cheddar cheese or gluten free spaghetti. My favorite gluten free pasta is from Ronzoni. […]

Please leave me a message so I know you came and visited.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Built with WordPress.com.